https://open.lnu.se/index.php/sjovs/issue/feed Scandinavian Journal of Optometry and Visual Science 2022-10-03T15:00:11+02:00 Rigmor C. Baraas rigmor.baraas@usn.no Open Journal Systems <p>Scandinavian Journal of Optometry and Visual Science is an open-access peer-reviewed journal for promoting research amongst optometrists and other researchers in optometry and visual science.</p> <p>The journal was fully transferred to <a href="https://open.lnu.se">LnuOpen</a> on November 1, 2022</p> https://open.lnu.se/index.php/sjovs/article/view/3439 SOPTI Meeting Abstracts 2022 2022-10-03T14:59:56+02:00 Assunta Di Vizio assuntadivizio@hotmail.it Alberto Recchioni a.recchioni@bham.ac.uk 2022-07-30T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Assunta Di Vizio, Alberto Recchioni https://open.lnu.se/index.php/sjovs/article/view/3438 Dry eye symptoms using the Ocular Surface Disease Index in Sweden: a short report from a pilot study 2022-10-03T14:41:38+02:00 Jenny Roth jenny.roth@lnu.se Ida Nilsson ida.nilsson@lnu.se Jeanette Melin jeanette.melin@ri.se Antonio Filipe Macedo antonio.macedo@lnu.se <p>The aim of this study was to investigate the prevalence of dry eye symptoms in the Swedish population using a web-based version of the ocular surface disease index (OSDI).<span class="Apple-converted-space"> </span></p> <p>A web-based version of the OSDI questions was implemented in an online form using a software developed by Artologik. The link to the form was distributed via Linnaeus University social media pages. Basic demographic information such as age, sex and county of residence was also collected.</p> <p>A total of 404 complete responses were received, 303 respondents (75%) were females, the median age = 39 (interquartile range = 28-53) years, median OSDI-score = 19 (interquartile range = 9-32). Crude prevalence of dry eye symptoms (categories mild to severe) was 65% (95% CI = 62-75). The difference in prevalence between males and females was statistically significant (chi-square test, <em>p</em> = 0.007).</p> <p> </p> <p>The current study found that the prevalence of dry eye symptoms among a sample of the Swedish population was 65%. These results highlight the need to investigate further the prevalence and risk factors for dry eye disease in the Swedish population.</p> 2022-07-30T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Jenny Roth, Ida Nilsson, Jeanette Melin, Antonio Filipe Macedo https://open.lnu.se/index.php/sjovs/article/view/3441 The status of optometry in Italy. 2022-10-03T15:00:04+02:00 Alberto Recchioni a.recchioni@bham.ac.uk 2022-07-30T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Alberto Recchioni https://open.lnu.se/index.php/sjovs/article/view/3442 Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT): Newer technologies and technical challenges. 2022-10-03T15:00:11+02:00 Karthikeyan Baskaran karthikeyan.baskaran@lnu.se Christine Wildsoet wildsoet@berkeley.edu 2022-07-30T00:00:00+02:00 Copyright (c) 2022 Karthikeyan Baskaran, Professor